CSEA chapter 289

California School Employees Association

For the latest information on contract negotiations, the newsletter, upcoming events, employee recognitions, chapter constitution, site representatives, etc., click on "CSEA    +"  at the top of this page ( menu plus ) for the drop down menu. 

CSEA: What We Do

The California School Employees Association is the largest classified school employees union in the United States. CSEA represents more than 200,000 public employees in California.

CSEA was formed in 1927 by a determined group of Oakland custodians who saw the need to gain protections for themselves and other classified employees. Through this initial determination, CSEA proved to be an organization that would stand the test of time.


Who We Are

Campus Photo

CSEA Chapter 289


President: Liz Auchincloss 
Vice President: Cindy Salazar 
Secretary: Cecilia Contreras Martinez
Treasurer: Barbara Smith 
Chief Union Steward: Jason Thornell
Site Rep Coordinator: Chantille Marquez
Communications Officer: Regina Reese

Campus Photo

CSEA Chapter 289

Union Stewards

Jason Thornell - Chief Union Steward
Liz Auchincloss
Julio Martinez
Melanie Olguin
Chantille Marquez
Therese Schweidler
Mary Saragosa
Regina Reese
Scott Kennedy
Michael Ghens
Cheryl Brown
Cindy Salazar
main campus

CSEA Chapter 289

Site Representatives (by area)

Site Rep Coordinator: Cheryl Brown
Administration / Occupational Education: Janine Lovelace and Hong Lieu
Student Services / Veterans Program Building: Mary Saragosa, Chelsea Lancaster, and Chantille Marquez
Humanities / Fine Arts: Chien-Ei Yu
Campus Center / Culinary: Cheryl Brown
Bookstore: Melanie Olguin
Earth and Biological Sciences: Michael Whitham
Purchasing / FRC: Michael Whitham
Security: Marco Lombardo
Facilities and Operation: Dan Gaffney, Cindy Salazar, and Kelvin Mason
LRC / Library: Regina Reese and Cristina Garcia-Otero
Physical Education / Life Fitness Center: Michael Gamboa
Schott Center: Lisa Draper
Wake Center: Emma Cruz
Garvin Theatre / Drama and Music: Christina Frank and Alba Romero
International / HR / ECC 14-21 / CESJ: Alondra Lazaro Gonzalez
Orfalea Early Learning Center: Alondra Lazaro Gonzalez
Business Communication / West Campus Center / Interdisciplinary Center: Christina Frank and Alba Romero